Why was Dewsbury-Hall booked in Merseyside derby?

3 hours ago 19

Jack Grealish has criticised referee Darren England after his Everton team-mate Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall was booked for taking a quick free-kick in their 2-1 Merseyside derby defeat by Liverpool.

Grealish said he had "never seen that in my life" after his midfield partner was shown a card for taking the set-piece before the referee was ready.

Manager David Moyes also said he found "some of the decisions really strange".

Speaking to BBC Sport, Moyes said: "I've played plenty of games recently where teams have taken quick free-kicks and it has not been [after] the referee's whistle."

What happened?

Jack Grealish speaks to referee Darren EnglandImage source, Getty Images

Image caption,

Jack Grealish was one of three Everton players booked in the game

Grealish was fouled by Liverpool's Curtis Jones in the 78th minute and stayed down injured after the incident. Twenty-nine seconds later, Dewsbury-Hall took the free-kick.

The referee was not facing the set-piece taker and had not blown his whistle when it was taken. He then proceeded to book the Everton player.

According to the International Football Association Board (Ifab), who determine the laws of the game, there is no law that states taking a quick free-kick is punishable with a card.

However, under Ifab's law 12.4, a player can be booked for dissent by word or action, or even for displaying unsportsmanlike behaviour such as showing a lack of respect for the game.

Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL), the body responsible for refereeing games in England, has not commented on the specific incident.

Media caption,

Moyes criticises referee after derby defeat

When can you take a quick free-kick?

Ifab says, external the referee does not need to blow his whistle for a quick free-kick to take place but they can only happen if:

  • The kick is taken from the correct position

  • The ball is stationary

  • No player is injured

  • The referee has not distracted the offending team

As the game was stopped for Grealish's injury, England could therefore deem that Dewsbury-Hall's set-piece could not proceed without his permission first.

This article is the latest from BBC Sport's Ask Me Anything team.

What is Ask Me Anything?

Ask Me Anything is a service dedicated to answering your questions.

We want to reward your time by telling you things you do not know and reminding you of things you do.

The team will find out everything you need to know and be able to call upon a network of contacts including our experts and pundits.

We will be answering your questions from the heart of the BBC Sport newsroom, and going behind the scenes at some of the world's biggest sporting events.

Our coverage will span the BBC Sport website, app, social media and YouTube accounts, plus BBC TV and radio.

More questions answered...

Read Entire Article
Ekonomi | Asset | Lokal | Tech|